5/13-15/14

Tuesday, 5/13/14

Aim: Developing the second half of Act II

Daily Spark: Describe a moment that you wanted to “give up” on something, but someone or something helped you over come that feeling and you overcame it.

Ex: My first year teaching, I had a class I couldn’t manage.  I was in different classrooms each period, and I had to run to this classroom, my second period class, from another room on the other side of the building.  The classroom was tables instead of desks, with two chairs per table. Everything I did, every rule I made, they did whatever they could to break them and test my dedication.  One day in December, I walked into my classroom was hit with the smell of diner food.  Four students who had always been particularly disruptive had gone to the diner instead of first period, purchased huge lumberjack breakfasts, and were treating the table desk  as their personal booth, with all 4 chairs around it. Like at Frank Sinatra, there was a no eating in the classrooms rule. I had had it. I walked over to the students with the big trash can from the hallway and told them to throw it away.  They refused. I didn’t want to waste any more of the period, so I left the trash can by them and got on with my lesson.  Eventually they did throw the food away, but I was so frustrated, I decided that was my last teaching day. I went to my principal, told her I was quitting, she told me to think it over, I then had a long conversation with another teacher, a woman who had been teaching in the school for several years and who taught some of these students. We spoke for a long time about education, student need, the importance of steadiness and dedication. She gave me some good advice about teaching and classroom management. I decided to stick it out.

 

Today we will watch the ending of Million Dollar Baby. Tonight, you will finish the second act for homework:

The Antagonist Returns!

Pages 50-75 or Pages _5-8___ (the 50% mark) -_8-12___ (the 75% mark)

Your protagonist has already had some run-ins with the antagonist, and has been successful so far in keeping him or her out of the way. At the 50% mark, your protagonist may believe that he or she has seen the last of the “bad guy or gal.” Unbeknownst to your protagonist, the antagonist has been getting ready to come back with a vengeance.

Describe how your antagonist rears his or her ugly head again in your script:

 

The “All is Lost” Moment

Page 75 or Page _8-12_ (the 75% mark)

Just like the 50% mark, the “All is Lost” Moment is a false defeat. Everything that could go wrong has gone wrong. The antagonist has come back with a bigger army and a brilliant game plan right when your protagonist thought all his or her problems were gone for good. After such a huge defeat, it is no wonder your protagonist is ready to throw in the towel and give up on his or her dreams.

Describe the “All is Lost” Moment

 

The “Aha!” Moment

Page 85 or Page __8-13__ (the 85% mark)

This is the moment when your protagonist pulls him or herself off the floor and back into action. Oftentimes, with the help of the supporting characters, he or she will come up with a brilliant plan (aha!) to finally defeat the antagonist—this time for good.

Describe the “Aha!” moment of your script

 

In class we will watch the rest of the second act of the film.

 

Thursday, 5/15/14

Aim: Understanding the final turning point

Daily Spark: Did you like Million Dollar Baby? Why or why not?

Today, we will swap packets and you will give feedback to someone else.

Think about:

  1. Does the story hold your attention?
  2. Do the turning points seem life changing enough?
  3. Are you interested in the main character/want him/her to succeed?
  4. How/what are you learning about each character?
  5. Does the conflict seem realistic?
  6. Does the story move you?
  7. What are some additions or changes you would make?

Afterwards, discuss

Leave a comment